Research Project: The Media Art Agency 235 Media and its Impact on the Production Conditions, Economisation and Internationalisation of Media Art

 

With the support of the Gerda Henkel Foundation, the imai foundation has initiated a two-year-long research project which will for the first time systematically explore and ground in the media theory the role 235 Media played in the history of video and media art. 

 

Since its beginnings in the early 1980s, the media art agency 235 Media has had crucial influence on the national and international development and distribution of the then emerging genres of video and media art. These did not evolve from within the established art scene but rather from the subcultures, growing out of media utopias, and were closely linked to the music culture of the 1970s and 1980s. Since then not only has media art found its way to the museum, it also initiated various economisation processes. Since its beginnings it has brought forth numerous innovations in the area of art production as well as in regard to the forms of presentation, placement and dissemination, which remain influential to this day. These influences can be traced particularly well using the example of the history and activities of 235 MEDIA, as it accompanied the central developments in media art ‘from the inside’.

 

Among its activities were – to name just a few – circulation of media art via television, editing of the video art magazine Video Congress, establishment of international distribution structures, participation in festivals and exhibitions (VIDEONALE.5; vision.ruhr etc.). Additionally, with Electronic Café International 235 Media managed to implement artistic network strategies even before the existence of the internet (documenta IX, Biennale di Venezia etc.). By partaking in and even initiating the production, distribution and curatorial processes and by operating, in the spirit of Walter Benjamin, with the goal of the ‘democratisation of art’ in mind, 235 Media became a substantial part of media art history.

 

The research project will systematically analyse these developments and ground them in media theory. The imai is the perfect site for this ambitious undertaking as it inherited 235 Media’s vast archive of video and media art, documentation of exhibitions and other audiovisual formats and various previously unpublished materials when it was founded in 2006. As such, the media art archive of the imai foundation offers an incomparable and hitherto little explored basis for the realization of the project.

 

Research team: Dr. Renate Buschmann (direction), Dr. Jessica Nitsche (postdoctoral scholar), Hiroko Myokam (research fellow), Angelika Gwozdz (research assistant)

 

Funded by:

Electronic Café International (documenta IX), copyright: 235 Media

Kontakt:

Dr. Jessica Nitsche

Universität Paderborn

Institut für Medien-wissenschaften

Raum E 2.351

Warburger Str. 100

33098 Paderborn

jessica.nitsche@uni-paderborn.de

Forschungsprojekt: Die Medienkunstagentur 235 MEDIA. Ihre Bedeutung hinsichtlich der Produktionsbedingungen, Ökonomisierung und Internationalisierung von Medienkunst 

Die Stiftung imai hat mit Unterstützung der Gerda Henkel Stiftung ein zweijähriges Forschungsprojekt ins Leben gerufen, das die Bedeutung von 235 Media für die Geschichte der Video- und Medienkunst erstmalig systematisch erforschen und medientheoretisch fundieren wird.

Die Medienkunstagentur 235 Media hatte seit ihren Anfängen in den frühen 1980er Jahren entscheidenden Einfluss auf die nationale und internationale Entwicklung und Verbreitung der Video- und Medienkunst. Diese formierte sich nicht innerhalb des etablierten Kunstbetriebs, sondern aus Subkulturen heraus, auf der Basis von Medienutopien und in enger Verbindung zur Musikkultur der 1970er und 1980er Jahre. Inzwischen ist die Medienkunst in den Museen mehr als nur angekommen und Prozesse der Ökonomisierung sind in Gang gesetzt. Sie hat seit ihren Anfängen zahlreiche bis in die Gegenwart wirkmächtige Innovationen hervorgebracht, sowohl im Hinblick auf die Kunstproduktion wie auch auf Präsentations-, Vermittlungs- und Verbreitungsformen. Diese lassen sich am Beispiel der Geschichte und der Aktivitäten von 235 Media in besonderem Maße verdeutlichen, da sie zentrale Entwicklungen der Medienkunst ‚von innen heraus‘ begleitet hat.

Zu ihren Aktivitäten zählten – um nur eine kleine Auswahl zu nennen – die Verbreitung von Medienkunst durch das Fernsehen, die Edition des Videomagazins Video Congress, der Aufbau internationaler Vertriebsstrukturen, Festivalbeteiligungen und Ausstellungen (VIDEONALE.5; vision.ruhr etc.). Indem 235 Media an Produktions-, Verbreitungs- wie auch kuratorischen Prozessen mitwirkte bzw. diese initiierte und mit der Zielsetzung einer ‚Demokratisierung der Künste‘ agierte, ist sie selbst zu einem substantiellen Bestandteil der Medienkunstgeschichte geworden.

Das Forschungsprojekt wird diese Zusammenhänge systematisch untersuchen und medientheoretisch fundieren. Die Stiftung imai bildet für dieses Vorhaben den idealen Standort, denn als diese im Jahr 2006 gegründet wurde, erhielt sie von 235 Media deren immenses Archiv mit Video- und Medienkunst, Ausstellungsdokumentationen und zahlreichen bislang unveröffentlichten Materialien. So bietet das Medienkunstarchiv der Stiftung imai für die Umsetzung des Projekts einen unvergleichlichen und bislang wenig erforschten Fundus.

 

Team:

Dr. Renate Buschmann (Projektleitung)

Dr. Jessica Nitsche (Postdoc-Stipendiatin)

Hiroko Kimura-Myokam (Research Fellow, Japan)

Angelika Gwozdz (Wissenschaftliche Hilfskraft)

 

 

Electronic Café International (documenta IX), copyright: 235 Media

 

Kontakt:

Dr. Jessica Nitsche

NRW-Forum

Ehrenhof 2

D-40479 Düsseldorf

jn@imaionline.de